Welcome to the National website of the Economic Society of Australia (The Society). The Society is primarily concerned with promoting discussion and debate of economic issues within Australia. It does this by:

This website is a resource for members and non-members of the Society alike. It was designed to facilitate communication and/or coordination between branches of the Society and to promote economic thought amongst the general public.

To become a member of the Society, click on your affiliated State and follow the prompts for Membership.

To view Events scheduled for this year follow this link.


ACE 2015 will be hosted by the Queensland Branch of the Society in association with Brisbane‐based universities. The conference will be held at the Queensland University of Technology’s Gardens Point Campus from 7 to 10 July 2015. Read more...



RBA/ESA Essay Competition Awards 2014

The Reserve Bank is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 RBA/ESA Economics Competition for Australian undergraduate university students. The essay competition was run in conjunction with the Economic Society of Australia (ESA) and the UNSW Economics Society.

Students were asked to discuss the short- and long-run implications of the productivity slowdown for the Australian economy. A number of high quality essays were received this year from a range of universities. Congratulations to our winners:

  • First prize ($2000): Michael Read, The University of Sydney
  • Second prize ($1000): Angus Gibbs, The University of Sydney
  • Best essay from a first year student ($500): Kenny Jia Wei Ng, The University of Sydney

These prizes will be presented at a ceremony at the Reserve Bank of Australia in October 2014.

The Yale Global Justice Program, Global Financial Integrity, and  Academics Stand Against Poverty invite submissions of original essays. Read more about The Yale Global Justice Program

ESAMACE2014 has now concluded – read all about it.  Two national awards were given out this year – our congratulations go to:
Professor John Freebairn – Distinguished Fellow Award, 2014.  View John Freebairn’s Citation
Professor Gary Banks – Distinguished Public Policy Fellow Award, 2014.  View Gary Banks’ Citation

Eminent Speaker Series – Professor Joseph Stiglitz was in Australia as a guest of the Economic Society and ANU.  We hope you had a chance to be part of the program.  Work has already started on the 2015 ESS.

La Trobe Uni – You may have read of La Trobe University’s decision to cut its Economics Department by two thirds  (see ‘La Trobe to rationalise economics’ ).  In response the society has made a number of direct appeals to La Trobe university. The Victorian branch organised a  letter expressing concern with signatures of support from attendees of the recent ACE conference and its membership. Our National President has also written to the La Trobe University on behalf of the central council that represents all branches.


ACE 2015



<< Dec 2014 >>
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4