Distinguished Fellow Award

The Economic Society of Australia proposed the establishment of the Distinguished Fellow Award in 1985.


The purpose of this award is to honour distinguished Australian economists for their contribution to the development of economics.

Criteria Eligibility

Criteria eligibility is to be based upon the candidates contribution to the development of economics as a discipline or profession. Recipients of the Award are expected to be living when annual nominations close.


Selection criteria as follows:

  1. Nominations for the Award may be made by a Branch, or by a Distinguished Fellow or by a pair of Distinguished Fellows.
  2. A Branch may make only one nomination each year. A Distinguished Fellow may make only one nomination each year. A citation and a curriculum vitae must be provided with a nomination.
  3. Nominations must be received at least sixty days prior to the AGM of Central Council.
  4. The Selection Committee will consist of five persons; the President, the Secretary and three persons chosen by Central Council.
  5. At least one Distinguished Fellow will be on the Selection Committee.
  6. Each committee member chosen by Central Council should normally serve no more than three consecutive years.
  7. The names of the people on the Selection Committee will be announced with the Award.


The Award to be announced and presented at the Annual Conference whenever possible. The Award is to be accompanied by a citation and the citation is to be published in an appropriate issue of the Economic Record.


The winner of the 2015 Distinguished Fellow Award is Professor Bruce Chapman AM.   Read Professor Chapman’s Citation

Past recipients include:

2014 Professor John Freebairn 2000 Professor John Nevile
2013 Professor Geoffrey Brennan 1999 Professor Adrian Pagan
2012 Professor John Pitchford 1998 Professor Alan Powell
2011 Professor John Quiggin 1997 Professor Fred Gruen
2010 Professor Peter Groenewegen 1996 Professor Geoff Harcourt
2009 Professor Ross Garnaut 1995 Professor Max Corden
2008 Professor Alan Woodland 1994 Professor Heinz Arndt
2007 Professor Yew Kwang Ng 1993 no award
2006 Professor Maureen Brunt 1992 Sir Leslie Melville
2005 Professor Peter Lloyd 1991 no award
2004 Professor Helen Hughes 1990 Professor Noel Butlin
2003 Professor Peter Dixon AO 1989 Professor Murray Kemp
2002 Professor Richard Snape 1988 Sir Roland Wilson
2001 Professor Bob Gregory 1987 Trevor Swan and Colin Clark


Eminent Speaker Series

National Economic Panel

ACE 2016


<< Nov 2015 >>
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 1 2 3 4 5 6