Central Council

About the ESAs

The Economic Society of Australia (The Society) is a federation of stated-based groups with approximately 1,400 members. It is united by a Central Council which is currently comprised of twelve individuals, specifically;

  • seven state presidents;
  • two national editors; and,
  • a three-member executive team.

It is the explicit purpose of the Society to promote the use of economics within Australia. To further this objective, Central Council publishes two journals (Economic Record and Economic Papers) and provides additional value to the branches by helping to coordinate national events such as the Annual Conference of Economists and the Eminent Speaker Series. State branches operate locally. They are beholden to their members and they seek to promote the use of economics through a variety of means, including but not limited to:

  • Conducting monthly meetings, seminars, conferences and other events which promote economic thought
  • Publishing material (journals, newsletters, briefings, etc.) which encourages the application of economic theory to practical issues
  • Creating environments in which professionals can meet to discuss topical economic issues.

There are branches of the Society within West Australia, South Australia, Victoria, Tasmania, Queensland, New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory. To get involved with the Society follow the links to your affiliated State’s website.

Share this with your friendss