Central Council

Distinguished Fellow Award

The Economic Society of Australia proposed the establishment of the Distinguished Fellow Award in 1985.


The purpose of this award is to honour distinguished Australian economists for their contribution to the development of economics.

Criteria Eligibility

Criteria eligibility is to be based upon the candidates contribution to the development of economics as a discipline or profession. Recipients of the Award are expected to be living when annual nominations close.


Selection criteria as follows:

  1. Nominations for the Award may be made by a Branch, or by a Distinguished Fellow or by a pair of Distinguished Fellows.
  2. A Branch may make only one nomination each year. A Distinguished Fellow may make only one nomination each year. A citation and a curriculum vitae must be provided with a nomination.
  3. Nominations must be received at least sixty days prior to the AGM of Central Council.
  4. The Selection Committee will consist of five persons; the President, the Secretary and three persons chosen by Central Council.
  5. At least one Distinguished Fellow will be on the Selection Committee.
  6. Each committee member chosen by Central Council should normally serve no more than three consecutive years.
  7. The names of the people on the Selection Committee will be announced with the Award.


The Award to be announced and presented at the Annual Conference whenever possible. The Award is to be accompanied by a citation and the citation is to be published in an appropriate issue of the Economic Record.

Recipient for 2018

The recipient of the 2018 Distinguished Fellow Award is Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark. Click here to read Professor Cobb-Clark's citation.

Past recipients 

  • 2017 Professor Alison Booth
  • 2016 Professor Emeritus Joseph E Isaac
  • 2015 Professor Bruce Chapman
  • 2014 Professor John Freebairn
  • 2013 Professor Geoffrey Brennan
  • 2012 Professor John Pitchford
  • 2011 Professor John Quiggin
  • 2010 Professor Peter Groenewegen
  • 2009 Professor Ross Garnaut
  • 2008 Professor Alan Woodland
  • 2007 Professor Yew Kwang Ng
  • 2006 Professor Maureen Brunt
  • 2005 Professor Peter Lloyd
  • 2004 Professor Helen Hughes
  • 2003 Professor Peter Dixon AO
  • 2002 Professor Richard Snape
  • 2001 Professor Bob Gregory
  • 2000 Professor John Nevile
  • 1999 Professor Adrian Pagan
  • 1998 Professor Alan Powell
  • 1997 Professor Fred Gruen
  • 1996 Professor Geoff Harcourt
  • 1995 Professor Max Corden
  • 1994 Professor Heinz Arndt
  • 1993 no award
  • 1992 Sir Leslie Melville
  • 1991 no award
  • 1990 Professor Noel Butlin
  • 1989 Professor Murray Kemp
  • 1988 Sir Roland Wilson
  • 1987 Trevor Swan and Colin Clark 

Share this with your friends

Central Council

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia