Central Council


Women in Economics Network: Commemorating 5 years of initiatives, impact and inspiration - ONLINE ONLY


From: Monday March 21, 2022, 12:30 pm

To: Monday March 21, 2022, 2:00 pm

This national webinar brings together the WEN community across Australia to commemorate five years since the Women in Economics Network was created.

Hosted by WEN National Deputy Chair, Dr Angela Jackson, this webinar will include a presentation by WEN National Chair, Dr Leonora Risse, which will share the story of how WEN was formed, outline the research insights that have guided WEN’s initiatives, and present evidence of the network’s impact.

Representatives of the founding committee – Danielle Wood (inaugural WEN National Chair and current ESA President), Associate Professor Duygu Yengin (inaugural WEN National Committee Member), Dr Mala Raghavan (inaugural Tasmanian WEN Chair) and Dr Tina Rampino (inaugural Queensland WEN Chair) – will highlight the unique and memorable ways that WEN has made a difference to its members and the economic profession more widely.

We are also honoured to welcome Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark, who was instrumental in the sowing the seeds for WEN, as our special guest for this event.

We warmly invite all members of WEN community and supporters of the network to join us for this event as we look back on our first five years and look ahead to our future.

Date: Monday 21 March 2022

Time: 12:30pm–2:00pm AEDT (Time zone converter)

Location: Zoom

Registrations: Open to the public but registrations are essential.

The session will be recorded and shared online as part of the ESA/WEN national webinar program.

About the Speakers

Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark

Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark is Professor of Economics at the University of Sydney. She is Director of the Program in Gender and Families at the Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA), a Chief Investigator in the ARC Centre of Excellence for Children and Families over the Life Course, and an elected Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia. In 2018 Deborah received the Distinguished Fellow Award by the Economic Society of Australia.

Dr Angela Jackson

Dr Angela Jackson is Lead Economist at Impact Economics, and currently serves as the WEN National Deputy Chair. She has worked at the highest levels of Government, including serving as an economist at the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, and as former Finance Minister Lindsay Tanner’s Deputy Chief of Staff. Angela is also a non-executive Board Member and Finance Committee Chair of Royal Melbourne Hospital, a board member of GenVic, and a member of the Victorian National Heart Foundation Advisory Board.

Dr Mala Raghavan

Dr Mala Raghavan is a Senior Lecturer in Macroeconomics and the Head of Discipline (Economics and Finance) at the University of Tasmania. She is a Research Associate of CAMA, ANU, and an associate with the Asia Institute of Tasmania, and has been a Visiting Research Fellow of the Bank Negara Malaysia and to World Bank Malaysian Hub. Mala was a co-founder of the Women in Economics Network and served as the inaugural chair of the Tasmanian branch of WEN.

Dr Tina Rampino

Dr Tina Rampino is Research Fellow at the Australian Institute for Business and Economics at the University of Queensland. Tina was a co-founder of the Women in Economics Network served as the inaugural chair of the Queensland branch of WEN. She currently serves as an Executive Director on the WEN Committee, and founded and manages the Queensland WEN Mentoring Program.

Danielle Wood

Danielle Wood is CEO of the Grattan Institute and a co-founder of the Women in Economics Network, serving as WEN’s first National Chair. Danielle currently serves as the President of the Economic Society Australia (ESA), and was the first female to lead the organisation in its  95-year history. Danielle is a Research Fellow with the Women’s Leadership Institute Australia, and a member of the Parliamentary Budget Office Expert Advisory Committee, the Commonwealth Bank CEO Advisory Council, and the PWC Future of Work Committee. In 2018, Danielle received the Honorary Fellow Award by the Economic Society of Australia.

Associate Professor Duygu Yengin

Associate Professor Duygu Yengin is Deputy Head of Economics at the School of Economics and Public Policy, and Director of Gender Equity, Diversity and Inclusion at the University of Adelaide, and formerly a Visiting Scholar at Seoul National University. She is a co-founder of the Women in Economics Network Australia, and now serves as a Co-Chair of the South Australia branch of WEN and as an Executive Member of SA branch of Economic Society of Australia. Duygu is a Faculty Diversity and Inclusion Committee Member and Indigenous Students Mentor, and launched and directs the Women in Economics Career program for students at the University of Adelaide.

Dr Leonora Risse

Dr Leonora Risse a Senior Lecturer in Economics at RMIT University, a Research Fellow with the Women’s Leadership Institute Australia, and formerly a Research Fellow with the Women and Public Policy Program at Harvard University. She was a co-founder of the Women in Economics Network and currently serves as the WEN National Chair. In 2021 Leonora was named by Apolitical as among the 100 Most Influential People on Gender Policy.

Registration and Joining this Event / Webinar

To register please book online below. The link to join this webinar will be included in your auto-generated invoice email - please look out for this and keep it safe until the webinar is due to be broadcast. Note, these emails sometimes get caught in spam folders. 


Bookings are now closed

Share this with your friends

Add to My Calendar