Central Council


International Economic Association

IEA Logo

The most recent International Economic Association newsletter can be viewed here: December 2014 Newsletter

The International Economic Association (IEA) is happy to announce the first Stiglitz Essay Prize (SEP) in honour of the past President of the association, Joseph E.  Stiglitz. This prize is possible thanks to the generous donation that the Economic Society of Australia pledged to the IEA.  Joseph E. Stiglitz is University Professor at Columbia University. In 2001, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in economics for his analyses of markets with asymmetric information. He was the President of the International Economic Association from 2011 to 2014.

The winner of the Stiglitz Essay Prize will be announced in early 2016, with the prize presentation to be made in a ceremony at the next IEA World Congress in 2017. The winner of the Stiglitz Essay Prize will win 1,000 USD, and the runner(s)-up will receive 500 USD. The winning essay and runner(s) up will be published on the IEA web site.  Read more details of the  IEA Stiglitz Essay competition  

If you would like to partner with the Economic Society of Australia contact our Administrator - admin@esacentral.org.au    

Share this with your friends

Central Council

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia