Central Council

Australian & NZ Standard Research Classification 2020

We are pleased to advise that the revised Australian and New Zealand Standard Research Classification (ANZSRC 2020) is available on the Australian Bureau of Statistics and Stats NZ websites.

The classification is the result of nearly two years of extensive consultations with researchers, universities, peak bodies and other users of the classification. Over 400 submissions were made by more than 300 individuals and organisations across two public consultation rounds. Over the duration of the review we received feedback covering all areas of research. The review team would like to thank you for your contribution to the review.

Major changes to the Fields of Research classification include:

  • Splitting Division 11 Medicine Division into two new Divisions, Biomedical and clinical sciences and Health   Sciences
  • Introduction of a new Division to capture Indigenous studies, including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander, Māori and Pacific Peoples research
  • Removal of the Division 10 Technology
  • A number of Divisions, including Information and computing sciences, Psychology, and Law and legal studies, have been substantially updated.

Major changes to the Socio-Economic Objectives classification include:

  • Removing the top ‘Sector’ level of the classification and associated letter codes
  • Splitting Division 96 Environment into two new Divisions, Environmental management and Environmental policy, climate change and natural hazards
  • Introduction of a new Division to capture Indigenous outcomes.

Both classifications have been completely renumbered to streamline use and reduce confusion between the old and new versions of ANZSRC.

These changes, along with numerous changes at the lower levels, result in an updated, accurate statistical classification system that reflects changes in research practices over the last decade and will support long-term usage. For further detail of the process and scope of changes please see the ANZSRC Review 2020 Outcomes Paper.

The classification is available for immediate use, noting each user of the classification will make their own determination as to when to adopt the new classifications. The ARC intends to use the new codes for the next Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) and Engagement and Impact (EI) rounds in 2023–24. The ARC will consult with universities to develop a timeline for use of the new codes for National Competitive Grants Program (NCGP) processes.

Once again, thank you for your contribution to the review.

Share this with your friendss

Central Council

map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia